top of page
Search
  • kaitlinstaniulis

Let It Out

Updated: Jul 22, 2022

This is it. This is the glorious collision of fantasy and reality, the nuclear blast of love and hope and light. I’m a flaming rocket as my feet smack pavement and my arms propel my body. The bright is blinding, but I don’t care.

I’ve been in the dark far too long.

There’s a drumline in my head and my bones hum with the beat. It is time to let it out. All of it. Every ounce of humanity left in me, every scrap of passion, every shred of emotion, every jolt of energy. It’s pouring from me, splashing the ground in my wake as I glide through this tiny crack in time.

I’ve never ran like this.

Ran

to an end, to a place where the grass tickles sky.

Soar

into the afterwards, into the spot beyond the past and between the present and future.

I am wind, flying seamlessly, soundlessly, senselessly. Everything I have is spilling through the holes they dug in my skin. It trickles down my body and I leave it behind me. I leave it behind with the horror and the dark. I leave it behind with the thief of the mind where it will never take me again.


All I have ever begged for is solitude, yet now I can’t stand to be alone. I hold out my hand as my legs carry me further than I ever dreamed of going, and she takes it. Power is erupting as our hands fuse, like we’ve split an atom, like we’ve exploded and created a universe. Her fingers fill the spaces between mine and the wholeness I feel is a crackling firework beneath my ribs. Everything is in my palm and it drives me forward. I cannot, will not stop now.

I let it out

All of it

And I fly.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Splinter

An excerpt. There is a splinter inside me, spreading my skin and piercing a nerve. It cries out in pain before blood stifles the screams. I am punctured, tainted by a foreign object and ruined by extr

Monster

A second person compilation. I almost forgot what you are. You dazzled me with numbers and symbols, and you spun me with theory and science. You were exactly what I thought you would be. Your hands wr

Enough

An excerpt. She is beautiful and I’m insane, but we tumble together in a swirl of endless watercolor. Her gravity captivates my soul and pulls my body closer and closer. We are a burning rocket, circl

bottom of page