top of page
Search
  • kaitlinstaniulis

Splinter

Updated: Apr 18, 2019

An excerpt.


There is a splinter inside me, spreading my skin and piercing a nerve. It cries out in pain before blood stifles the screams. I am punctured, tainted by a foreign object and ruined by extraneous particles which orbit around me and penetrate my sanity. I am absorbing the toxins in my habitat and my body thirsts for more. I do not know what I am, but I am certainly not human. I am certainly not capable of feeling what she is making me feel.

But here we are.

Here we are in the existence I have falsely named reality, flipping in the sweet air of tomorrow, holding onto the promises of yesterday for balance. She lays beside me, her chest gently rising and falling as she sleeps. I do not know how we got here, and I wish I could allow myself to be content in the confines of this moment.

But my mind is restless.

It is churning…

Constantly analyzing and fantasizing and tantalizing. All I hear is static in this silence, and all I know is the implosion of my rib cage as I gaze at her. She with the mocha skin and soft dark curls in which the intact pieces of my tattered soul long to burrow. She with the eyes that somehow see beyond the monster painted across my face. She who tames those feral specters in my head and lights a match where no one else can see.

“I do not understand,” I tell her when she wakes, and she gives me that sweet, crooked smile that twists my diaphragm and melts my joints.

“It’s not something you understand,” she explains, her voice a faint croak floating through the air with the sunrise.

“It’s just something you keep.”

Call me an angel when I am demon.

Tell me I am beautiful while I am frightening.

Pick me up whole when I am in pieces.

Share your soul because I do not have one.

Take from me everything, though I have nothing.

Call me the one when there are millions.

This is not real but make it forever.

Tell me a lie and say I am human.

You make me human.

You make me…

You make me…


You make me.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Let It Out

This is it. This is the glorious collision of fantasy and reality, the nuclear blast of love and hope and light. I’m a flaming rocket as my feet smack pavement and my arms propel my body. The bright i

Monster

A second person compilation. I almost forgot what you are. You dazzled me with numbers and symbols, and you spun me with theory and science. You were exactly what I thought you would be. Your hands wr

Enough

An excerpt. She is beautiful and I’m insane, but we tumble together in a swirl of endless watercolor. Her gravity captivates my soul and pulls my body closer and closer. We are a burning rocket, circl

bottom of page